Link to print-friendly version


Creating Stable Links to Electronic Articles

Following are examples of how to create stable links to articles licensed by the MSU Libraries. The process of creating links vary from resource to resource and stable links are not available for every resource. To comply with copyright laws, you should link to an article in your online course or website using a stable link instead of uploading the PDF or text file.

Please contact Julia Perez at perezj@mail.lib.msu.edu with any questions.

Table of Contents:

Proquest

After clicking the link to the article, choose the "Copy link" option in the top yellow toolbar.



A pop-up window will come up with your URL highlighted in the center. Examine the URL given to you by Proquest. If the URL
already includes proxy1 (or proxy2).cl.msu.edu in the string, you do not need to do anything further. Use the link given to you by
Proquest to include in your course. If the link does not already include the proxy1 or proxy2 string in the URL, then add the
EZproxy string, http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=, in front of it before using it.



JSTOR

Click on "Article Information" to retrieve part of the stable link. The information you need is labeled "Stable URL". You MUST add
the following information in front of the Stable URL so that the link will work for off-campus users: http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=.
So, when complete, the link should look like:

http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0027-8424%2819990216%2996%3C1164%3A1S




FirstSearch

Open the article, then click on "Link Pickup" at the top corner of the First Search page.

After clicking on "Link Pickup", the screen below displays. Use the link below the "IP-address recognition URL…"
as your stable link. If the URL already includes proxy1 (or proxy2).cl.msu.edu in the string, you do not need to do anything
further. Use the link given to you by FirstSearch to include in your course. If the link does not already include the proxy1 or proxy2
string in the URL,then add the EZproxy string, http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=, in front of it before using it.



Science Direct (Elsevier) and Cambridge:

These databases use a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). Retrieve your article and locate the DOI.
Normally the DOI is located on the full text or summary page but not visible on the pdf.
To create the stable link, begin with "http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/"
and then add everything after "doi" in your article.

Example: http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.virol.2005.07.003



Blackwell/Synergy, Sage, SpringerLink, Wiley:

These platforms use the URL in the address bar on your browser as the stable link. Retrieve your article and locate the URL. Examine the
link and if it already includes proxy1 (or proxy2).cl.msu.edu in the string, you do not need to do anything further. Use the URL to include in
your course. If the link does not already include the proxy1 or proxy2 string in the URL, then add the EZproxy string,
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=, in front of it before using it.



Ovid

A Jumpstart URL is used to create the link. Click open the "Email Jumpstart" link at the complete reference view of the citation.


Copy the Jumpstart URL and use that as your stable link. Examine the link and if it already includes proxy1 or proxy2).cl.msu.edu
in the string, you do not need to do anything further. Use the URL to include in your course. If the link does not already
include the proxy1 or proxy2 string in the URL,then add the EZproxy string, http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=,
in front of it before using it.




CSA/Illumina:

In this resource, you will initiate an email from CSA that will send you the stable link to your email address. Retrieve your article in CSA,
then click on the link that reads, Save, Print, Email. When this menu opens up, select the option, 'Use the Currently Viewed Record',
and then page down to enter your email address and email the record to yourself.




You will receive an email from support@CSA.COM with a copy of the citation you requested and at the end of the email you
will find the field called the ‘Full -Text Link’. Use the link in this field as your stable link. Examine the link and if it already includes
proxy1 (or proxy2).cl.msu.edu in the string, you do not need to do anything further. If the link does not already include
the proxy1 or proxy2 string in the URL, then add the EZproxy string http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url= in front
of it before using it. The stable link to this article will be:
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://www.csa.com/ids70/gateway.php?mode=pdf&doi=10.1177%2F0886260
504269679&db=sagecrim-set-c&s1=753709d35e78efc4c6c09463c37bebd3&s2=d448274bb5626dfcb99d1e7ac52bd568



Gale Cengage Learning

After selecting your title in a Gale Cengage resource, to get the stable link, click on "Bookmark" on the left hand side of the screen
(located above the Basic Search link.




After clicking "Bookmark," a popup window will display. Copy the Bookmark URL. The URL may run on for several lines, so be
sure to copy all of it. Examine the link and if it already includes proxy1 (or proxy2).cl.msu.edu in the string, you do not need
to do anything further. Use the URL to include in your course. If the link does not already include the proxy1 or proxy2 string
in the URL, then add the EZproxy string, http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=, in front of it before using it.



BioOne

Copy the URL in the address from the full-text view of the article and place it after "http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=".
Do not take the URL from the PDF view. When complete, your link will look like:

http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://www.bioone.org/perlserv/?request=get-document&doi=10.1662%
2F0002-7685%282003%29065%5B0360%3AOMMFEI%5D2.0.CO%3B2



EBSCO

Click on the title link of the article and not the pdf view to have this format display.

Page down the record until you find the field labeled, Persistent Link to this record. This will be the stable link. Examine the
link and if it already includes proxy1 (or proxy2).cl.msu.edu in the string, you do not need to do anything further. Copy and
paste the URL in your course. If the link does not already include the proxy1 or proxy2 string in the URL, then add
the EZproxy string, http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=, in front of it before using it.



Emerald Journals

Click on the title link for the article, not the html or pdf view. The screen below should appear. Look for the field labeled Article URL,
as this is the stable link.

The stable link for the article below is: http://www.emeraldinsight.com/10.1108/00197850810841648. For the link to work for
off-campus users, attach the following URL in front of the stable URL link above: http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=

The completed link will appear as:
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/10.1108/00197850810841648



HeinOnline

To create a stable link to an article in this resource, you have to click on the Permanent Page Link icon found in the page toolbar.


After clicking on the Permanent Page Link icon, the browser address bar will then update the URL on the page you are
viewing making it a stable link. You may then copy and paste the URL to use as your stable link. Examine the link and if it already
includes proxy1 (or proxy2).cl.msu.edu in the string, you do not need to do anything further. Use the URL to include
in your course. If the link does not already include the proxy1 or proxy2 string in the URL, then add the EZproxy string,
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=, in front of it before using it.





Page Coordinator: Arlene Weismantel weisman1@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=697
Last updated: 02-27-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.