40 Tips for 4.0 Papers
Prepared by the MSU Library Instruction unit for Fall Welcome orientation, this research guide has hot links to forty online resources that will be helpful while planning and writing a research paper.
MSU Libraries
The MSU Libraries home page is your gateway to the extensive resources and services of the Main Library and its branches. Search the online catalog (MAGIC) or explore our electronic resources pages and discover thousands of online indexes, full-text journal articles, e-books and much more.
Finding Books in the MSU Libraries
How do I search for books on my topic?
To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, you will need to use the Online Catalog (MAGIC). The Online Catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journals, government documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc.
When should I use the Online Catalog (MAGIC)?
- To find whether we own a specific book, including its location and call number
- To browse for books on a topic
- To find whether we subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper
To search for books placed on Reserve for your class, search by course or instructor.
NOTE: You cannot use the Online Catalog to find individual articles within a magazine--you must use a periodical index for that.
When Items You Find Online Are Not Available
If the item you are looking for is checked out or the MSU Libraries do not own the item, you may request it from another library (at no charge) by following these instructions:
- Books
If the book is CHECKED OUT:
- Recall: Please use this form to request that we recall CHECKED OUT material and hold it for you. For more information about MSU recall policies, please call Circulation at 517/355-2333.
If the book is NOT owned by the MSU Libraries:
- Search MeLCat to see if the book is available from other Michigan libraries and request it be delivered to the Main Library for you.
If the book is NOT available in MeLCat: - Request the book through ILLiad.
Research Guides
Suggested research tools, research strategies, and Web resources for a variety of topics to get you started on your research, plus a link to all our library research guides.
- Off-Campus Access to Electronic Resources
Configure your Web browser for off-campus access to library electronic resources through the proxy server.
- Finding Articles
A clear, step-by-step guide to finding scholarly and other journal, magazine and newspaper articles—many full-text online—using electronic indexes and databases.
If the item you are looking for is an article from a magazine, journal, or newspaper that the MSU Libraries do not own, you may request it through ILLiad.
- GETTING STARTED: Environmental Studies
This guide identifies a few key resources. Use these indexes or other tools to begin research that goes beyond the content found in ProQuest or Expanded Academic ASAP.
- Choosing the Appropriate Biological Literature Database
There are many research tools available that index the professional biological literature. Understanding something about their coverage will help you choose the right one. [Page no longer available]
Specialized Search Tools
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Provides access to the literature on mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
- Aquatic Plant Information Retrieval System (APIRS)
A free online resource devoted to freshwater aquatic and wetland plants, as well as terrestrial and aquatic invasive plants.
The database includes annotated citations for more than 72,000 research articles, books and reports about plant ecology, physiology, utilization and control. Items in many languages dating back to the 18th century are in this inclusive database.
- Environment Complete
According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
- Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
Specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide.
Contemporary Issues
A guide to researching contemporary issues, including how to find opposing viewpoints and opinions on controversial issues.
- Researching Controversial Topics in Biotechnology
Includes information on researching five specific topics in biotechnology. [Page no longer available]
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
The Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a database covering a variety of social issues including gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, and terrorism. This resource contains articles from the popular Greenhaven Press series Opposing Viewpoints, At Issue, Current Controversies, and Contemporary Issues Companion Series, as well as statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of special interest groups and more.
- CQ Researcher
This web file provides 48 reports a year on current, hot, and controversial topics such as "Embryo Research," "Rethinking Ritalin," "Drinking on Campus," and "Subsidized Access to the Internet for the Poor." Among the file's beauties are its balanced introductions to these issues; others include its generous selection of cross references to past reports, excellent tables and graphs, and clear instructions on how to cite the resource. A full text product.
Evaluating Web Pages
Techniques to apply and questions to ask from the University of California at Berkeley's Teaching Library Internet Workshops.
Evaluating, Organizing and Synthesizing Information
How to choose reliable and authoritative information, then organize and synthesize it... "in a manner that permits analysis, understanding, and communication." From San Francisco State University.
Ask a Librarian
E-mail and real-time chat and instant messaging reference service when a visit to the reference desk or telephone query is not an option.
Page Coordinator: Jim Latchney latchney@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=710
Last updated: 05-08-2007
|