Link to print-friendly version


Supply Chain Management Resources

This guide provides a starting point for research in the areas of supply chain management, transportation, and logistics--including trade and professional associations, company and industry overviews, books and articles, and career sources.

Table of Contents:

Industry Definition and Classification

Supply chain management involves managing and coordinating the movement of goods, services, and information through the entire supply chain process, from acquiring raw materials through the delivery of products to the consumer. This process involves the interaction and coordination of many companies and service industries in the areas of manufacturing, warehousing, selling, transportation, distribution, and information systems and management.
  • North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

    A key concept in conducting industry research is the classification of economic activity. The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is a system for classifying economic activity and has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS is an improvement over SIC in that establishments that use the same or similar processes to produce goods or services are grouped together. Where SIC codes consisted of 4 digits, NAICS uses 6 digit numbers. NAICS is an improvement over SIC since it recognizes many more new industries separately as well as allows for comparable statistics among the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Consult the online NAICS codes and tables to identify the codes for the industry you are interested in researching.

    The following are some of the major NAICS codes relating to supply chain management:

    • NAICS 481112 Scheduled freight air transportation
    • NAICS 482111: Line-haul railroads
    • NAICS 483111: Deep sea freight transportation
    • NAICS 483211 Inland water freight transportation
    • NAICS 484121 General freight trucking, long-distance trucking
    • NAICS 511210 Software publishers
    • NAICS 541614 Process, physical distribution, and logistics consulting services

Industry Trends and Analysis

These resources give solid overviews of industries, with current trends and analysis. These resources will help you answer the questions: What is the current value of the industry? Is the industry growing? What are the major companies/competitors in the industry and what is their market share? What are some barriers to entry or threats to the industry?
  • IBISWorld

    IBISWorld offers key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, with coverage down to the seven-digit NAICS code, along with in-depth analysis for over fifty global industries. Includes life cycle analysis, barriers to entry, and basis of competition.
  • MarketLine Business Information Centre

    This product offers 2,500 MarketLine Industry Profiles: an integrated library of overview reports, covering all major industrial and commercial sectors. Each report contains information on: Market Size, Market Segmentation, Competitive Landscape, Market Share, and Market Forecasts. Industry profiles also contain Porter's Five Forces Analysis.
  • Mintel Reports

    Mintel Market Reports contain full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets, with an emphasis on European and US markets. Each report analyzes market share, segmentation, and trends along with providing comprehensive demographic profiles and consumer patterns.
  • Plunkett Research Online

    Plunkett Research Online offers detailed industry and business analysis including market research and trends, company profiles, and statistics for over 30 industry categories.
  • Mergent Online

    This resource provides U.S. company data that covers 10,000 public companies, their SEC filings, and current and historical annual reports. It also has reports on 39 major industry sectors for four primary regions of the world.
  • Mergent Horizon

    Mergent Horizon provides comprehensive coverage of companies, including their products, major customers, suppliers, partners, and industries. It covers all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ--over 6,200 in total, and provides enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media and Finance sectors.
  • Snapshot Series

    Market research reports covering a broad range of industries and countries. The information is presented in both a graphical and tabular format.
  • Global Market Information Database (GMID)

    Global Market Information Database (GMID) provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. Includes country profiles, statistics, market data, and lifestyle indicators and analysis (such as eating and drinking habits, home ownership trends, and crime patterns).
  • Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys

    HC 106.6 .S75 (Reference) -- A valuable source of industry information. These broad surveys provide information on 52 major industries in the U.S. Content includes current developments, trends, and company data.
  • Mergent’s Industry Review

    HG 4961 .M68 (Company Information table) -- A statistical reference that covers more than 6,000 companies in 137 industry groups. The information is arranged by industry so that companies can be compared with each other or against averages for specific industries. Within each industry there is a ranking of companies based on 8 performance measures.
Company Information

These resources will help you answer the following questions: What does the company primarily sell? How is the company doing financially? What are the major strengths and weaknesses of the company?
  • Company Information Databases Comparison Table

    Not sure of which database you want to use? This table highlights differences in content and coverage among company databases available through the Gast Business Library.
  • Mergent Online

    This resource provides U.S. company data that covers 10,000 public companies, their SEC filings, and current and historical annual reports. It also has reports on 39 major industry sectors for four primary regions of the world.
  • Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles

    Hoover's provides up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
  • Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface

    This enhanced business searching interface of Business Source® Complete provides easy access to full text company financial data, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, conference proceedings, case studies, and more. It also contains full-text content from peer-reviewed, business related journals, including the Harvard Business Review. Coverage is in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
  • LexisNexis Academic

    An excellent resource for finding company information on over 35 million U.S. and international companies. To access company information, choose the "Business" tab across the top of the page.
  • MarketLine Business Information Centre

    Contains over 10,000 company profiles; 2,000 industry profiles; 100 country profiles; and over 2,500 company SWOT analyses.
  • Investext Current Reports

    Available through LexisNexis, Investext Current Reports provides the two most recent reports for each of the companies tracked by Investext and the two most recent reports for each of 54 industries.
  • International Directory of Company Histories

    HD 2721 .D37 (Reference) -- Good source for the historical development of companies. This multi-volume set covers public, private and nonprofit companies. The entries for each company generally provide basic information, a discussion of the company’s mission, goals and ideals, key milestones, principal subsidiaries and operating units, key competitors and a short bibliography for further reading. Use the cumulative index in the latest volume to locate specific companies.
Suppliers

  • Mergent Horizon

    Mergent Horizon provides comprehensive coverage of companies, including their products, major customers, suppliers, partners, and industries. It covers all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ--over 6,200 in total, and provides enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media and Finance sectors.
Supply Chain Practices of Specific Companies

To research supply chain practices of specific companies, try the following:
  1. Go to SEC EDGAR and search by company name. Select your company from the results list and then find its 10-K (annual report) in the list of filings. Click on the "documents" button and then click on the .htm or .txt file for the complete 10-K (look under the Type column for 10-K, usually at the top of the list). This will retrieve the entire 10-K or annual report. Use your browser's "find" command to search for the terms supply chain, logistics, purchasing, or transportation within the text.

    Or use the SEC's Full Text search option (use the advanced search) and search by company name and such terms as supply chain, logistics, purchasing, or transportation. Limit the search by Form Type to 10-K. Select the 10-K from the list, then use your browser's "find" command to search for the terms supply chain, logistics, purchasing, or transportation within the text.

  2. Go to Business Databases and search for articles in magazines, newspapers, and journals written about your company's supply chain practices. Try search the databases: ABI/Inform, Business Source Complete, LexisNexis Academic, and Factiva.

  3. Try to find a case study on your company such as those from Harvard Business School. Case studies are only $6.95. NOTE: The MSU Libraries does not subscribe to the Harvard Business School Cases and does not collect them in the Business Library.

  4. Ask to interview someone at the company.


Finding Books

To find books in the Gast Business Library and MSU Libraries, you will need to search the Catalog.
  • Selected Reference Books for Supply Chain Management

    • Encyclopedia of Information Systems

      T58.5 .E535 2003 (Business Library, Reference) -- A four-volume set with thorough coverage of core information systems and related topics.
    • Supply Chain and Transportation Dictionary

      HF5761 .C36 2000 (Business Library) -- A glossary of transportation, logistics, and supply chain terms.
    • Importers Manual USA

      HF3035 .I45 ed.4 2004 (Business Library, Reference) -- An excellent source of information for all aspects of the importing process: international and legal issues, U.S. Customs entry and clearance, packing, shipping, insurance, and much more.
    • Ports of Entry and U.S. Import Regulations

      HJ6622 .P6 2001 (Business Library, Reference) -- Provides essential information on all major ports of entry in the U.S., Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, and Mexico. Includes individual information for specific ports and U.S. customs regulations.
    • Trade Services Directory & Guide

      HF1371 .T73 2001 (Business Library, Reference) -- A directory of air, rail, and ocean carriers. An excellent source of importing and exporting how-to information, glossary, and sample trade forms.
    • U.S. Harmonized Tariff Schedule

      HF1756 .U82 2001 (Business Library, Reference) -- Contains the tariff and geographic and commodities schedules to classify your imported goods.
Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers

To search for articles in periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers), you need to search a periodical index or database. Some periodical indexes contain abstracts or brief summaries of the articles. A few contain the full text or entire content of whole articles as they originally appeared in the periodical. There are hundreds of periodical indexes designed for different purposes and areas of study. Listed below are several key databases relative to supply chain management, accessible through the Databases link on the Gast Business Library home page and the MSU Libraries E-Resources page.
  • ABI/INFORM (on ProQuest Direct)

    Content ranges from business press to scholarly publications, including abstracts since 1971 and some full-text since 1988. Covering approximately 1400 international periodicals, it is a good source for information on market trends, corporate strategies and product information.
  • Business Source Complete

    Business Source® Complete contains content from peer-reviewed, business related journals, including the Harvard Business Review. Coverage is in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Connect to these documents more easily using the Business Searching Interface.
  • Factiva

    This database covers more than 6000 business publications including periodicals, newspapers, newswires, trade publications, and the full-text of Dow Jones publications such as the Wall Street Journal and Barron’s. In addition, there is a Company & Industry section that provides company and industry comparisons, as well as corporate profiles.
  • LexisNexis Academic

    Good source for news and business information. This service covers more than 7000 sources, such as major U.S. and international newspapers, regional U.S. newspapers, radio and television transcripts, newswires, magazines, legal and industry news, and selected SEC documents. Please note that this database does not cover scholarly publications.
  • ACM Digital Library

    The ACM Digital Library contains the full-text collection of every article published by ACM, including: over 50 years of archives, over 30 publications, all full-text Conference Proceedings, over 1 million pages of text, over 50,000 bibliographic citations.
  • IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

    Provides full-text access to all of the publications of the IEEE and IET. Coverage is complete from 1988 to the present.
Selected Journals

  • The International Journal of Logistics Management

    Print and Online.
  • International Journal of Physical Distribution & Logistics Management

    Print and Online.
  • Journal of Business Logistics

    Print and Online.
  • Journal of Operations Management

    Print and Online.
  • Journal of Supply Chain Management

    Print and Online.
  • Supply Chain Management Review

    Print and Online.
  • Transportation Journal

    Print and Online.
Associations

  • American Society of Transportation and Logistics

    Founded in 1946 by a group of industry leaders, AST&L is a professional organization with a mission to "facilitate education and certification in the fields of transportation, logistics, and supply chain management.
  • Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals

    "Founded in 1963, the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP) is the preeminent association for individuals involved in supply chain management. CSCMP provides educational, career development, and networking opportunities to its over 10,000 members and to the entire profession."
  • Institute for Supply Management

    ISM is one of the largest and most respected supply management associations in the U.S. It provides "opportunities for the promotion of the profession and the expansion of professional skills and knowledge." Offers certification programs and continuing education opportunities online and throughout the U.S.
  • Material Handling Industry of America

    "The Material Handling Industry of America (MHIA) is the leading non-profit trade association representing the material handling and logistics industry –- the Industry that makes the supply chain work. Active members are material handling and logistics equipment, systems and software manufacturers; consultants; systems integrators and simulators; third party logistics providers and publishers."
  • SOLE: The International Society of Logistics

    SOLE is "a non-profit international professional society composed of individuals organized to enhance the art and science of logistics technology, education and management."
  • Warehousing Education and Research Council

    A professional organization focused on warehouse management and its role in the supply chain.
Career Resources

  • CSCMP Career Center

    Resources and links to information on careers in logistics from the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals.
  • CareerBuilder.com

    Search a database of jobs by job type, industry, company, keyword, geographic region, and more.
  • CareerJournal.com

    The career site of the Wall Street Journal. Users can access a jobs database and submit an entry to the resume database; participate in various message boards; locate articles about resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking; and research salary negotiation.
  • Dice.com

    Free job search for technology professionals. Job seekers can search jobs and post their resumes for free. Suggested search terms: "supply chain MBA", "supply chain manager", "supply chain expert" or "logistics manager."
  • JobsInLogistics.com

    North America's Largest Logistics Career Board. Job seekers can search for jobs and post their resumes for free.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook

    From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this handbook provides information about numerous career choices with detailed information on what workers do on the job and expected job prospects.
  • Salary.com

    Includes a salary calculator to find average salaries by job title, category, and zip code.
Citation Guides

Find a number of examples of how to cite both print and electronic sources using APA, MLA, and Chicago style, as well as many other styles. Off-Campus Access to Electronic Resources

Log in to your library account and you will be able to access databases from off campus. For more information, see Off Campus Access. NOTE: Some databases are available only in the Business Library.

Interlibrary Loan

Request books, articles, and other materials the MSU Libraries do not own through InterLibrary Loan.

Business Research Guides

Find helpful library resources on conducting research on companies, industries, advertising and marketing, international marketing, private companies, and more.

Questions?

  • Kara Rawlins

    Librarian, Gast Business Library
    Ph: 517.432.4182
    E-mail: gustk@msu.edu
    Areas of Expertise: Advertising, Management, Marketing, Supply Chain Management, MBA Programs


Page Coordinator: Kara Rawlins gustk@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=726
Last updated: 10-26-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.