Finding Books
Use the Online Catalog: begin with a keyword search which allows the use of everyday terminology and the combination of two or more concepts (e.g. "packaging and environment"; "RFID and packaging"); click on a title of interest and follow the subject hotlinks in the cataloging record to locate other books on the same topic. Use the truncation symbol to retrieve alternate forms of a word (e.g., packag* and label* will find package, packages, packaging and label, labels, labelling). Alternatively, you can do a subject search instead of a keyword search. Subject searches are more precise, but require the use of the standardized Library of Congress subject headings assigned by catalogers. Some of the official Library of Congress subject headings used in this area are:
- CHILD-RESISTANT PACKAGING
-
CONTAINERS
- CORRUGATED PAPERBOARD
- PACKAGE GOODS INDUSTRY
- PACKAGE PRINTING
- PACKAGING
- PACKING FOR SHIPMENT
- PLASTICS IN PACKAGING
- PRESSURE PACKAGING
Need something online?: Limit your Catalog search to Electronic Resources. In addition, the Knovel Life Sciences & Chemistry Collection contains over 400 full-text handbooks and reference works in biochemistry, biology & biotechnology; chemistry & chemical engineering; food science; pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, and toiletries; and safety & industrial hygiene. Included are many titles related to packaging, especially food packaging.
Finding Articles
These indexes will allow you to search the content of scholarly journals, magazines and other materials. Once you've connected to the desired index, you can search for articles by keyword(s). Different databases may use different terminology or spelling, so be flexible in your choice of keywords, considering synonyms (e.g., radio frequency identification vs. RFID; cartons, boxes, containers) and various word endings (e.g., singular vs. plural). Examine the subject headings or descriptors associated with articles of interest to identify other potentially useful keywords.
- ABI/INFORM (on ProQuest Direct)
1971-
Covers the business aspects of packaging (i.e. industry, sales, management, production, etc.). Some articles available full-text (since 1988) from approximately 1,400 international periodicals.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
1983-
Covers all aspects of applied science, engineering, and technology, including packaging.
- Business Source Complete
Business Source® Complete contains content from peer-reviewed, business related journals, including the Harvard Business Review. Coverage is in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Connect to these documents more easily using the Business Searching Interface.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
Comprehensive international index to articles from over 450 current design and craft journals, from 1973 to the present. Includes printing and packaging design.
- Engineering Village 2
1969-
Worldwide coverage of journals and conference publications in all areas of engineering, including the engineering aspects of packaging from equipment to materials.
- Environment Complete
Indexes scientific, technical & popular journal articles on energy resources, wastes, recycling, pollution, health hazards, conservation, wildlife management, social/ethical issues, & policy. Useful for topics related to environmental/sustainable aspects of packaging.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
1969-
Information on packaging as it relates to food science and technology.
- General Business File ASAP
1980-
Covers company, industry, market, and product information, including 200,000 company profiles and more than 50,000 full-text Investext® reports.
- GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment (including packaging and recycling) and contains approximately 295,000 references to scholarly, government and general-interest titles, with Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. Coverage from 1973-
- Paperbase/PIRA
1975-
Comprehensive international coverage of the pulp and paper, printing, packaging, publishing, and nonwovens industries. British spellings used (e.g., injection moulding, colour printing, aluminium cans). Online search guide available.
- SciFinder Scholar
Covers the chemical aspects of packaging, mainly packaging materials and related topics. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations.
News
- Factiva
International and multi-lingual coverage of nearly 9,000 sources, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal.
- Packaging Today
Packaging & paper news for today's industry.
- The Wall Street Journal
Market Reports
- Global Market Information Database (GMID)
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers.
- MarketLine Business Information Centre
Concise overview of 10,000 companies, 2,500 industry and 100 country profiles. Also included are 2,500 company analyses.
- Mintel GNPD Academic
A comprehensive service that monitors new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. **This resource is only available through on-campus computers. It is not accessible using the proxy server. It is necessary to create a personal login account (username and password) in order to access the service.**
- Mintel Reports
Full-text market research reports covering U.S. and global consumer markets, with an emphasis on European and U.S. markets. Each report analyzes market share, segmentation, and trends along with providing comprehensive demographic profiles and consumer patterns.
Only available through on-campus computers; not accessible using the proxy server.
Selected Packaging Journals
The following list includes some of the common packaging magazines and journals held by the MSU Libraries, both in print and electronically. Use the Online Catalog to locate other titles of interest by doing a title search using the unabbreviated name of the desired publication. In the Main Library, current unbound issues will be found in alphabetical order in the Periodical Reading Room on the second floor, West Wing. Older bound volumes will be found under their call number.
Reference Sources
Internet Resources
- Association of Independent Corrugated Converters
Follow the "Our Industry" link for the latest corrugated industry facts & figures.
- CanCentral (Can Manufacturers Institute)
Clearinghouse for information about the can and the can industry.
- Corrugated Packaging
Everything you wanted to know about corrugated.
- Foodservice & Packaging Institute, Inc.
Trade association for manufacturers, raw material suppliers, machinery suppliers and distributors of foodservice packaging products whose mission is "to promote the sanitation, safety, functional, economic and environmental benefits of foodservice packaging products." Site contains useful information and resources for educators.
- Glass Packaging Institute
Information on the glass container industry.
- Macrogalleria: a Cyberwonderland of Polymer Fun
From the Polymer Science Learning Center, University of Southern Mississippi.
- Metal Can Defects Manual
HTML and downloadable PDF manual from the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.
- Metal Packaging Manufacturers Association
Represents the interests of companies involved in the production of light metal containers, closures and components. "Design & Manufacture" section demonstrates, through simple line drawings and text, how both food and drink cans and ring pull ends are manufactured.
- NAPCOR: the National Association for PET Container Resources
Trade association for the PET plastic industry in the United States and Canada. Site contains information related to PET plastic, uses, and recycling.
- Paperboard Packaging Council (PPC)
The leading trade association representing the manufacturers of paperboard packaging in the U.S. Website includes information on the industry and the benefits of folding cartons for customers and consumers.
- Plastics Foodservice Packaging Group (PFPG)
Formerly the Polystyrene Packaging Council (PSPC). Site dedicated to educating the public about the importance and benefits of polystyrene and plastics food packaging.
- Plastics Resource
Includes "Plastics 101," featuring plastic facts, properties, uses, recycling codes, etc., and information on resource conservation and recycling.
- PReP: the Plastics Resources for Educators Program
Offers wide array of instructional materials on extrusion, injection molding, rotational molding, blow molding, thermoforming, and plastic materials. Includes illustrations, animations, video, instructional modules, etc.
- The Reusable Industrial Packaging Association (RIPA)
Website includes online standards & specifications, industry statistics, full-text documents, and access to the Association's newsletter, Reusable Packaging.
- Virtual Textbook on Polymers
Other Useful Research Guides
Page Coordinator: Anita Ezzo ezzoa@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=73
Last updated: 10-05-2009
|