Finding Books
Use the Online Catalog: the search box on the Libraries' home page defaults to a simple keyword search, but you can click on "Advanced Search" to get author, title, and other search options. In locating books by topic, keyword searches are often less precise, but permit the use of everyday terminology and the combination of two or more concepts. For example: textiles and environment. And you can use the truncation symbol to retrieve alternate forms of a word (e.g., textile* and environment* will find textile or textiles and environment, environmental, environmentally, etc.). Click on any titles of interest and follow the subject hotlinks in the cataloging record to locate other books on the same topic. Alternatively, you can do a subject search instead of a keyword search. Subject searches are more precise, but require the use of the standardized Library of Congress subject headings assigned by catalogers. Some of the official Library of Congress subject headings used in this area relate to specific fibers, fabrics, processes, and techniques (e.g. knit goods, silk, weaving, mercerization, etc.) and include:
-
COTTON FABRICS
- DYES AND DYEING
- TEXTILE CHEMISTRY
- TEXTILE FIBERS
- TEXTILE DESIGN
- TEXTILE FABRICS
- TEXTILE FINISHING
- TEXTILE INDUSTRY
Finding Articles
These indexes will allow you to search the content of scholarly journals, magazines and other materials. Once you've connected to the desired index, you can search for articles by keyword(s). Example: UV protection and textiles. Different databases may use different terminology or spelling, so be flexible in your choice of keywords, considering synonyms (ultraviolet vs. UV; textiles, fabric, clothing) and various word endings (e.g., singular vs. plural). Examine the subject headings or descriptors associated with articles of interest to identify other potentially useful keywords.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
1983-
Covers all areas of applied science and technology including the textile industry and fabrics.
- Art Index Retrospective
Index to French, Italian, German, Spanish, Dutch, and English publications covering all aspects of art, including decorative arts, fashion, interior design, and textiles.
- Clothing and Textile Arts Index
Covers the English-language literature related to all areas of clothing and textiles including the sociological and psychological aspects of clothing and dress, textile and apparel design, manufacturing and merchandising, historic clothing and textiles, theatrical costuming, protective garments, and more. Covers years from 1983-1993.
- Design and Applied Arts Index
Comprehensive international index to articles from over 450 current design and craft journals, from 1973 to the present. Includes all aspects of design, including interior design, fashion & textile design, embroidery, ergonomics, and computer-aided design.
- eHRAF World Cultures
A collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject. Cultures covered are of two types: l. traditional cultures 2. North American ethnic groups. Each annual installment contains about 50,000 pages of text as well as photographs, illustrations, charts, cultural summaries and bibliographic data. Useful for socio-cultural aspects of clothing and dress.
- Engineering Village 2
Worldwide coverage of ~5,000 journals and conference publications in all areas of engineering, which includes textile science. Coverage extends from 1969-
- GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment (including environmental aspects of clothing and textiles) and containing approximately 295,000 references to scholarly, government and general-interest titles, with Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. (1973 - present)
- SciFinder Scholar
Provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, MEDLINE, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. Useful for textile chemistry-related research.
- Textile Technology Digest
A monthly publication of the Institute of Textile Technology, providing abstract coverage of current periodicals, books, journals, and pamphlets in the field of textile technology: yarn, fabric, fiber and apparel production; finishing, testing, chemistry, physics, and biology of fiber; mill management. Covers years from 1944-2002.
- World Textiles
International coverage of all aspects of the textiles industry, textile technology, and the application of textiles materials. CD-ROM, covering 1970-January 2006. Digital & Multimedia Center TS 1300 .W67
Major Textile Magazines & Journals
The following list includes many of the important textile magazines and journals held by the MSU Libraries, both in print and electronically. Use the Online Catalog to locate other titles of interest by doing a title search using the unabbreviated name of the desired publication.
Reference Sources
Internet Resources
- Bilateral Fiber and Textile Trade Data Set
A database providing information about source-destination trade flows among 42 exporting and importing country/regions on 43 fiber, textile, and clothing product aggregates on an annual basis from 1992 through 2002.
- Cotton and Wool Outlook
Provides monthly updates on domestic and world cotton and wool production, consumption, export sales, use, and prices; includes data on raw fibers and textiles.
- Cotton and Wool Yearbook
Examines domestic and world cotton and wool production, comsumption, export sales, use, and prices, as well as the outlook for domestic and world wool.
- Fabriclink
Educational web resource for fabric and apparel information and care.
- Fashion-Era
Contains over 675 illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History.
- FiberSource
Resource for information on fibers of man-made synthetic and cellulosic polymers. Extensive links to industrial, organizational, governmental, and educational sites.
- Internet Centre for Canadian Fashion and Design
Fashion and design links, a fashion glossary and a textile dictionary giving information on fabrics, including fiber content, weave, characteristics and uses.
- King Cotton
Devoted exclusively to cotton, featuring grower information, crop reports (some foreign), market data, world supply/demand, and links to other cotton-related sites.
- Textile Institute
Includes links to general textile information sources.
- Textile Web
The self-proclaimed "premier sourcing site for the textile industry."
- U.S. Department of Commerce. Office of Textiles and Apparel
Information on exports, trade data, trade agreements, import quotas, etc.
Other Useful Research Guides
Page Coordinator: Anita Ezzo ezzoa@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=75
Last updated: 02-23-2009
|