Link to print-friendly version


US Federal Government Information: A Basic Guide to Locating Resources and Publications

This is a brief guide to locating government information in the MSU Libraries and on the Internet. More resources and guides are available and those requiring further assistance should contact Main Library Reference or Government Documents library staff.

Table of Contents:

Documents published after 1976

  • General Catalogs and Indexes

    • MSU Library Catalog

      The MSU Libraries' Online Catalog is a searchable listing of items owned by the MSU Libraries, as well as the Library of Michigan, including US government documents published after 1976.
      Selected documents published prior to 1976 are included, but many are not.
      Includes links to online documents.
    • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

      Catalog of government documents and information distributed by the Government Printing Office since 1976. Includes links to online documents. Documents not available from the MSU Libraries are usually available from the Michigan regional depository libraries (Library of Michigan, Lansing)
    • WorldCat (OCLC)

      WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings.
    • Guide to U.S. Government publications

      Lists government serials and series publications. Provides agency chronologies and traces changes in government and agency organization and publication over time.
  • Specialized Indexes and Catalogs

    • LexisNexis Congressional

      A searchable version of CIS/Index, the key indexing & abstracting source for legislative information since 1970. Some full text from late 1980s-present of Congressional publications including congressional committee hearings, prints, documents and reports and the Congressional Record. Documents indexed are available in the Documents department (3West).
    • LexisNexis Statistical

      Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. Indexed publications are available in the Documents department (3West) in paper or fiche.
    • NTIS National Technical Information Service Index, 1964-present

      This growing collection, including millions of publications as well as audiovisual materials, computer datafiles, and software, originates from U.S. federal agencies, industry and university contractors with the federal government.
      Some documents are available online through the NTIS FDLP Database. Please check with a reference point for the password.
      Materials not in the NTIS FDLP database should be obtained through interlibrary services.
[Return to Top]

Documents published before 1976

Many documents published before 1976 are not cataloged in the library's online catalog. Some exceptions are the U.S. executive branch documents, 1789-1909 microfiche collection and many serials.

Use the shelflist in the Government Documents department (3West) to determine if a document published before 1976 is available in the library. The shelflist is organized by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) call number only. Use the resources below to locate the SuDoc number.
  • General Catalogs and Indexes

    • Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

      Start your search with this annual index to US government publications (1895-1970).

      How to use:
      The link goes to all scanned volumes. Add the year to the search box to get a specific volume. eg AND 1945
      The flipbook version allows you to search for keywords and links to pages with the search term.
      Use the SuDoc number to locate it in the MSU US Documents collection. (Not all items indexed here will be available at MSU). Visit the Library of Michigan or use Interlibrary Services for materials not at MSU.

      Also available in print in Main Library Reference Collection.
    • Checklist of United States Public Documents 1789-1909

      First systematic list of documents. Organized by issuing agency. No subject index. Also available in Main Library Reference 1East.
    • CIS Index to US Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909 Reference (1East)

      Indexes 200,000 documents published by executive branch government agencies and departments including annual reports, general publications, serials, instructions, rules, circulars, decisions, and registers. Documents indexed are available on microfiche in the Documents Department (3West). Records for these materials are in the library catalog.
    • Cumulative subject index to the monthly catalog of United States government publications, 1900-1971 Main Library Reference (1East)

      Subject index to government publications. Must be used together with the Monthly Catalog Of United States Government Publications
      Catalog record.
    • Cumulative Title Index to U.S. Public Documents 1789-1976 Main Library Reference (1East)

      Title index for locating known publications. Index includes SuDoc number.
      Catalog record.
    • Guide to U.S. Government publications. Z1223.Z7 G82 Closed Reference (1 Center)

      Lists government serials and series publications. Provides agency chronologies and traces changes in government and agency organization and publication over time.
    • WorldCat (OCLC)

      Catalog of items owned by libraries around the U.S. and the world. Contains over 35 million records. Many libraries have not cataloged their pre-1976 documents collections, so this is not a comprehensive catalog for the pre-1976 period.
  • Specialized Indexes and Catalogs

    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set

      The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages." Covers 1789-1969.

      The U.S. Congressional Serial Set Finding List complements the CIS Serial Set index listing serial set volumes for department annual reports and serial publications.
    • LexisNexis Congressional

      The Historical Indexes section indexes congressional reports, documents, prints, hearings and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. This does not index the U.S. executive branch documents, 1789-1909 collection. Documents indexed are available in the Documents Department (3West). MSU Libraries does not have the unpublished hearings collection.
    • Census Index

      Index of decennial Census publications produced between 1790 and 1997. Based on print indexes produced by the Census Bureau, Henry J. Dubester's Catalog of United States Census Publications and other indexes. Includes abstracts where available. Census publications indexed are available in the Census Alcove (1East).
[Return to Top]

Government Information on the Internet

  • Government agency directories, search engines and subject indexes

    • USA.gov

      The U.S. federal government's official web portal. Includes directories of executive, judicial and legislative websites, links to contact information for departments and officials, and online information and services. Also includes a search engine for government agency web sites.
    • Federal Government Resources on the Internet

      From the University of Michigan Documents Center. Includes government as well as non-government information sources, and some resources restricted to the University of Michigan.
    • Frequently Used Sites Related to US Federal Government Information

      Compiled by the Federal Documents Task Force of the Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association. Organized by level of government and subject.
    • United States Government Information

      Subject index of government information web sites from the University of Colorado.
[Return to Top]

Historical U.S. Government Documents

  • A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation

    "A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75."
  • American Memory from the Library of Congress

    "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning."
  • HeinOnLine

    Full-text collection of legal materials including all volumes of the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, treaties and agreeements, presidential documents and agency administrative publications.
  • LLMC Digital

    Full-text of historical and current materials from the U.S. federal legislative, executive and judicial branches. Primarily legal material but includes publications such as the Statutes at Large, Civil Rights Commission Reports and U.S. Supreme Court Reports. Currently includes 80 titles, 3,302 volumes and 2,889,801 pages.
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set

    The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages." Covers 1789-1969.
  • University of Michigan Digital Collections

    Search MIRLYN, the University of Michigan's library catalog, to find links to government information materials digitized in partnership with Google.
  • OAIster...Find the Pearls

    OAIster is a broad, generic, information retrieval resource for information about publicly available digital library resources provided by the research library community. Using the search engine provided, scholars are able to identify full-text resources in repositories that are freely accessible with no restrictions on the Worldwide Web. Includes records for many digitized historical collections.
  • Registry of U.S. Government Publication Digitization Projects

    Locator tool for publicly accessible collections of digitized U.S. Government publications.
[Return to Top]

Need More Help?



[Return to Top]



Page Coordinator: Hui Hua Chua Chua@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=855
Last updated: 10-02-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.