Questions about Library Resources?
If you have any questions about using the resources listed in this research guide, please feel free to contact Sharon Ladenson (Gender Studies Librarian) via e-mail at ladenson@msu.edu. If Sharon Ladenson is unavailable, please don't hesitate to contact MSU Main Library Reference electronically or by phone (517-353-8700). You are also welcome to visit the MSU Main Library Reference Desk in person, during our regularly scheduled hours.
Selected Reference Sources
- Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources (Available Online)
http://magic.msu.edu/record=b5254842~S39a
"(Focuses) on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context."
Online Catalogs
- MeLCat
http://elibrary.mel.org/search
Can't find what you need in the online catalog? Try searching MeLCat, a catalog of numerous Michigan libraries. Materials requested directly through MelCat often arrive at the MSU Main Library Circulation Desk within approximately 7 days.
- WorldCat (OCLC)
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=w
orldcat&done=http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://er.lib.msu.edu
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes.
Selected Indexes to Articles
Given the interdisciplinary nature of LGBT studies, using a wide variety of indexes in the social sciences and humanities is advisable. This is a selected list. Many more online indexes are available:
http://er.lib.msu.edu/indexabstract.cfm
- America History and Life
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?au
thtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.
- Alt-PressWatch
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPT
AmVkVSPTImREJTPTM4M0M@&clientId=3552
"Alt-PressWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage."
- Alternative Press Index (1991-)
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=a
ltpressindex&done=http://er.lib.msu.edu
A database that indexes approximately 250 alternative, radical and left-leaning publications.
- Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990)
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=a
ltpressindexarchive&done=http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://er.lib.msu.edu
Indexes over 700 alternative and radical periodicals. This archive includes citations to articles published between 1969 and 1990.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://search.rdsinc.com/sessions?userid=
user5883&products=CWI
Covers over 600 sources published by more than 100 organizations around the world. Begins with sources from 1992 and expands through the present with more than 100 periodicals in addition to
non-periodical source publications.
- Gender Studies Database
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?authty
pe=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=fmh
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. The source documents indexed include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
- MLA International Bibliography (Chadwyck-Healey interface)
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://collections.chadwyck.com/home/home
_mla.jsp
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, bibliographies and other formats. 1963-present
- Sociological Abstracts
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://www.lib.msu.edu:8080/search/csa-so
cioabs
- Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences - Includes citations (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals
- Draws information from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations
Resources in MSU Libraries' Special Collections
"GLBT materials in Special collections are rich in a variety of formats covering several decades and ranging from periodicals to rare and popular literature and archival collections. Over 800 serial titles represent magazines, entertainment guides, newspapers, newsletters, and pride guides from all areas of the United States and other countries. The collection is strong in gay and lesbian “pulp paperbacks” from the 1950s through the 1970s, in addition to more recent transvestite and transsexual popular fiction. Historic pamphlets, leaflets, and manifestos represent the early gay and lesbian liberation movements." General information about the entire MSU Special Collections unit (including guidelines for accessing and using the collections) is available: http://specialcollections.lib.msu.edu/index.jsp
Selected Web Resources
- The Alliance of LBGTA Students at Michigan State University
http://www.msu.edu/user/alliance/
This organization "strive(s) to create an environment on campus that is supportive for all people, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity. We have a strong values for activism, support, and education."
- ACLU Lesbian and Gay Rights Project
http://www.aclu.org/lgbt/index.html
"Founded in 1986, the Lesbian & Gay Rights Project and AIDS Project are a special division of the American Civil Liberties Union. The combined Project staff are experts in constitutional law and civil rights, specializing in sexual orientation, gender identity, and HIV." The site includes links to resources such as specific case profiles, essays written by project staff members, and free publications of the project.
- Bisexual Resource Center
http://www.biresource.org/
"The Bisexual Resource Center is an international organization providing education about and support for bisexual and progressive issues." The site includes links to numerous resources, including (among others), conferences and events, and legal resources.
- Family Pride Coalition
http://www.familypride.org/
This organization provides support to LGBT parents and their families. The site includes links to Family Pride Coalition publications, and various online resources for LGBT parents.
- GLFSA: MSU's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Faculty, Staff, and Graduate Student Association
http://www.msu.edu/user/glfsa/
This Michigan State University organization strives "(t)o advocate equal rights, opportunities, and benefits to all members of the MSU community, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity(,) to provide education on issues of sexual orientation and gender identity in the MSU and surrounding community, (and to) serve as an informational source and support group for LGBT individuals and supportive allies within the MSU community."
- Grants for Individuals: GLBT
http://www.lib.msu.edu/harris23/grants/3gayles.htm
Provides links to sites of organizations which provide funding opportunites (most scholarships) to members of the LGBT community. Also provides links to other Web directories of similar funding opportunities.
- Human Rights Campaign
http://www.hrc.org/
This organization "seeks to improve the lives of GLBT Americans by advocating for equal rights and benefits in the workplace, ensuring families are treated equally under the law and increasing public support among all Americans through innovative advocacy, education and outreach programs." The site provides links to numerous resources, including information about U.S. state laws and legislation specific to LGBT equality.
- International Foundation for Gender Education
http://www.ifge.org/
Promotes acceptance of all people: "Transgender, Transsexual, Crossdresser, Agender, Gender Queer, Intersex, Two Spirit, Drag King, Drag Queen, Queer, Straight, Butch, Femme, Homosexual, Bisexual, (and) Heterosexual." Many of the resources linked from the site provide information for and about the transgender community.
- National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
http://www.thetaskforce.org/
"Founded in 1973, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation (the Task Force) was the first national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) civil rights and advocacy organization and remains the movement's leading voice for freedom, justice, and equality. We work to build the grassroots political strength of our community by training state and local activists and leaders, working to strengthen the infrastructure of state and local allies, and organizing broad-based campaigns to build public support for complete equality for LGBT people." The site provides links to numerous documents and reports on topics such as (among others) marriage equality, demographics of same sex households in the U.S., social discrimination, and health issues.
- Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG)
http://www.pflag.org/
This organization "promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons, their families and friends." The site provides links to numerous sources, including (among others), resources for LGBT commmunities of color.
- People With a History
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/pwh/
This site "includes hundreds of original texts, (and) discussions...and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world."
- Queer Resources Directory
http://www.qrd.org/qrd/
"The QRD (short for Queer Resources Directory) is an electronic library with news clippings, political contact information, newsletters, essays, images, hyperlinks, and every other kind of information resource of interest to the GLBO community."
- QueerAmerica: The National Database of Lesbigay Resources
http://www.queeramerica.com/
"QueerAmerica is a database published by OutProud, The National Coalition for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Youth. With over 5,000 entries, it's the largest collection of queer resources in the nation, and includes information on community centers, support organizations, PFLAG (Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians And Gays) chapters, queer youth groups, and more."
- Transgender Forum
http://www.tgforum.com/
This site provides a collection of resources for the transgender community.
Page Coordinator: Sharon Ladenson ladenson@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page_print.phtml?page_id=363
|