SUBJECT HEADINGS
Even though many Arab Americans share a geographic origin, cultural, religious and language heritage, many more have never lived outside of the United States and practice a diversity of religions. “Arab American” is an umbrella term and specific populations may be found using the following Library of Congress Subject Headings when searching the online catalog and other databases such as WorldCat:
Additional country information : PROFILES, HISTORY, ETC. MAPS
| Iraqi Americans |
Egyptian Americans |
Palestinian Americans |
| Morocco Americans |
Somali Americans |
Syrian Americans |
Lebanese Americans |
Kuwaiti Americans |
Yemenite Americans |
These and other Arab populations in the United States can also be found in MAGIC as:
| Arab Americans United States |
Lebanese United States |
Israelis United States |
DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND HANDBOOKS
- Arab American Encyclopedia
Detroit: U X L, 1999. Audience: grade 5- high school. Includes very basic information for the user just learning about the Arab American experience. Chapters include: history, immigration, economics, languages, religion, holidays, literature, education, jobs, politics, and other aspects of Arab American life.
- The Arab Americans
http://magic.msu.edu/record=b4963488~S39a
From publisher summary: "Offers a brief look at the history and culture of the Arab world, discussing various reasons why Arabs migrate to the United States, their adaptation to American society, and the impact of September 11th on their relations with other Americans."
- Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Cambridge: Belknap Press, 1980. An older yet still relevant publication with lengthy articles on ethnic groups in the U.S.. The articles include bibliographies.
INDEXES, ABSTRACTS, AND FULL TEXT SOURCES
- America History and Life
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?au
thtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ahl
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It covers 1,700+ journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
- eHRAF: HRAF Collection of Ethnography
http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/e/ehrafe/
ALSO KNOWN AS eHRAF: WORLD CULTURES
“The Arab Americans file consists of thirty-one documents, all in English. The range of ethnographic coverage for the file runs from the late nineteenth to the late twentieth centuries. There are no specific studies in the file providing a broad comprehensive ethnographic coverage for all Arab Americans in the United States. In general, most of the works in this file focus on the Syrian-Lebanese populations in the United States with specific reference to their concentrations in large urban areas.” (HTIUoM)
- Ethnic NewsWatch
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPT
AmVkVSPTImREJTPTM4M0U@&clientId=3552
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990. Search capability in English and Spanish. (PROQUEST)
- Index Islamicus
http://ezproxy.msu.edu:2047/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?au
thtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ich
The database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included cover almost 100 years of publications on the Islamic world.
Material cited covers the Middle East region as well as other Muslim areas of Asia, Africa and Muslim minority populations elsewhere. Sources are cited from over 3,000 journals, conference proceedings, , monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. (CSA ILUMINA)
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Read, Jen’nan Ghazal, [comp.] Bibliography of Selected References on Arab Americans. Washington, D.C.: Arab American Institute Foundation, [2005?] A substantial bibliography of books, articles, chapters, web links, journals, etc. on subjects including gender roles, migration, history and identity. (Also available as PDF)
http://www.aaiusa.org/bibliography.htm
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
See: Elaasar.
Schur, Joan Brodsky. The Arabs. Farmington, MI: Greenhaven Press, 2005. Includes chapter on “Arab Americans of Distinction”. One of 4 in the “Coming to America” series. An anthology of immigrant experiences, chronology and a bibliography.
DIRECTORIES
- Arab American Almanac
Glendale, CA: News Circle Publishing Co., 200[4?] on order
- Silent Victims: the Plight of Arab & Muslim Americans in Post 9/11 America
Elaasar, Aladdin. Bloomington, IN: Authorhouse, 2004. A post 9/11 work with profiles of “Distinguished Arab & Muslim Americans”. Serves as an updated almanac in lieu of the Arab American Almanac
- Middle Eastern Community of Metropolitan Detroit: 1998 Directory of Organizations.
Detroit, MI: Information and Research Services, United Way Community Services, 1998
STATISTICS
- American Factfinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/SAFFPeople?_sse=on
U.S. Census Bureau. Demographic tables on age, sex, household make-up, income, etc. on Arab Americans.
INTERNET SOURCES
- 100 Questions and Answers about Arab Americans
http://www.amalid.com/100_Questions.htm
A 2001 Knight Ridder publication. In a series of 3 resource guides on ethnic Americans. (Arab Americans: Detroit Free Press; Native Americans: Wichita Eagle in partnership with the Native American Journalists Association; Asian Americans: K-R in partnership with Asian American Journalists Association, manual of style and usage for covering people with Asian backgrounds.
- American Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee:
http://www.adc.org/index.php?321
A grassroots civil rights organization providing resources to the Arab American community and the general public researching Arab American issues, culture and information. A bibliography of readings (though dated) is included.
*Worldatlas.com maps used with permission
Page Coordinator: Diana Rivera huizarri@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page_print.phtml?page_id=90
|